The World Video Game Hall Of Fame (which is located at The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, NY) recently announced that 12 video games have been nominated to be inducted into the Hall of Fame this year.

The nominees include computer, console, and arcade games. The Hall of Fame has some certain criteria for games to have in order to be inducted into the hall of fame.

Criteria for Induction

The World Video Game Hall of Fame recognizes electronic games that meet the following criteria: icon-status, the game is widely recognized and remembered; longevity, the game is more than a passing fad and has enjoyed popularity over time; geographical reach, the game meets the above criteria across international boundaries; and influence, the game has exerted significant influence on the design and development of other games, on other forms of entertainment, or on popular culture and society in general. (A game may be inducted on the basis of the last criterion without necessarily having met all of the first three.)

This year's nominees include:

  • Asteroids
  • Call of Duty
  • Dance Dance Revolution
  • Final Fantasy 7
  • Half-Life
  • John Madden Football
  • King’s Quest
  • Metroid
  • Minecraft
  • Ms. Pac-Man
  • Spacewar!
  • Tomb Raider

The Video Game Hall of Fame will announce which games will be inducted on May 3rd, 2018.

More From The New 96.1 WTSS